Restricted Invasive Animals

Some Invasive animals are listed as restricted matter under the Biosecurity Act 2014. Restricted matter is found in Queensland and may have an adverse impact on human health, social amenity, the economy and the environment.

Restricted Invasive Animals of Queensland Fact Sheet

Restricted matter is assigned category numbers from 1-7 based on its characteristics and the risks it poses. More than one category may be assigned if multiple restrictions are appropriate to counter the risks. A person must comply with the category requirement for the restricted matter unless otherwise authorised by regulation or permit. The categories are as follows:

Category 1 
Restricted matter requires immediate containment or eradication to minimise the risk of spread. It must be reported to an inspector within 24 hours of an individual becoming aware of its presence and must be reported to the State.

Category 2
Restricted matter includes a range of plant and fish species that pose a significant biosecurity and require management. Category 2 restricted matter must be reported to an authorised officer (State or Local Government) within 24 hours of an individual becoming aware of its presence.

Category 3 
Restricted matter includes all invasive animals and plants where deliberate distribution or disposal is key source of spread. It must not be given as a gift, sold, traded or released into the environment unless the distribution or disposal is provided for in a regulation or under a permit. 

Category 4
Restricted matter includes specific invasive plants and animals that must not be moved to ensure they are not spread into other areas of the State. As with Category 3, the intention of this prohibition is to limit its distribution or spread. 

Category 5
Restricted matter cannot be possessed or kept under a person's control. This restricted matter category includes invasive species that have a high pest potential and capacity to impact heavily on the environment. There are exemptions for seized items, where the restricted matter is being held for identification purposes or under permit. 

Category 6
Restricted matter cannot be fed unless held under a restricted matter permit or for the purposes of poison baiting. This includes invasive animals and noxious fish which are not owned by a person. The intention of this prohibition is to discourage population growth.

Category 7
Restricted matter must be killed as soon as practicable and disposed of in a way described under a regulation. This is currently intended for the management of noxious fish. 

Invasive animals that are considered restricted matter in the Livingstone Shire include:

Feral Cats  (Felis catus)
Wild Dogs (Canis familiaris)
Foxes  (Vulpes vulpes)
Feral Pigs  (Sus scrofa)
Rabbits  (Oryctolagus cuniculus) 
Feral Rusa Deer  (Cervus timorensis)
Feral Chital Deer (Axis axis)
Feral Red Deer  (Cervus elaphus)
Dingo  (Canis familiaris dingo or Canis lupus dingo) 
Feral Goats  (Capra hircus)
Tilapia  (Oreochromis mossambicus and Tilapia mariae)

For other Invasive Animal Fact Sheets see Department of Agriculture and Fisheries

Council's Pest Management Officers are responsible for controlling invasive animals on Council land. 

Landowners are responsible for controlling invasive animals on their property. 

Everyone must take reasonable steps to prevent or minimise biosecurity risks. See General Biosecurity Obligation for more information.

Council can assist landowners to control invasive animals on their private land by:
  • Hiring out traps
  • Conducting and assisting in baiting programs
   Wild dog hunting Fox close-up Feral pig

© Queensland Government     © Queensland Government    © Queensland Government